top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturevballi

It starts with my beliefs, my manifesto

My journey

My longest-lasting memories of elementary to my current graduate courses are those that have inspired me to step out of my comfort zone and untap my fullest potential. I took an interest in educators who truly invested in me and who viewed me as more than just another student passing through their classroom. Those who were enthusiastic to teach us more than what was in our textbooks. In those moments, I was unaware of the impact and disruption it was causing within me, but as I began my profession in teaching, I knew I wanted to recreate those similar experiences and feelings for my students. I believe students should be taught beyond the four walls, in order to discover the vast opportunities education provides. All students have the right to an inclusive learning environment. It should not matter which school you step into, all classrooms regardless of student ability, socioeconomic status, ethnicity, or zip code should be a place where students grow and succeed.



Technology as a learning extension When implemented correctly, technology can be the catalyst that enhances and transforms the learning experience for our students. If our goal is to travel beyond our four walls, I believe we must refocus our skills and resources towards a blended learning environment in order to meet the educational needs of 21st-century learners. Technology can assist in differentiating instruction for each student allowing them to receive adaptive lessons based on real-time data. This will free up time for teachers to create intentional and personalized lessons to meet each student's unique needs. In time teachers will shift from a teacher-centered model to becoming the facilitators in a student-centered classroom. With this model, classrooms will shift to a personalized learning environment where students are offered choice, ownership, and voice, through authentic learning opportunities.

Moving forward with lifelong learning, I believe learning should be continuous and not stagnant. Why? Because as educators we must be willing to learn and lead. This is the reason I decided to pursue my Master’s degree. I am committed to professionally growing and developing my skills in order to disrupt the current education model. If our expectations and goals are to grow students to be lifelong learners, teachers have to force themselves out of their comfort zone and be willing to continue learning how to learn. We must model these same expectations to our students by allowing them to witness teachers collaborating, adapting, failing, and problem-solving. Students need to make those connections and then be able to transfer those same learning expectations.

I believe the opportunity to challenge the traditional classroom is now. I must remember the most influential teachers in my path created a different learning experience and challenged my thinking. I am committed to continuing the same for my students because all students have a right to inclusive education that meets their needs.

References:

Harapnuik, D. Thibodeaux, T., Cummings, C. (2018) Choice, ownership, and voice through authentic learning [ebook]. Creative Commons License. http://tilisathibodeaux.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/COVA_eBook_Jan_2018.pdf

8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page