top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturevballi

COVA Reflection

DAY ONE, WE WERE GIVEN CHOICE


Learning how to learn, with passion and in authentic ways by giving choice and voice to learners, is how I continue to grow professionally and personally. Although this is my philosophy NOW, prior to the ADL program I could not say I would have understood that statement. In October of 2021, I began my first session of my Masters program in Applied Digital Learning. I remember feeling anxious and frustrated. I was in a fixed mindset and believed I could not continue with the course. Dr. Harapnuik lived by COVA + CSLE and didn't budge. When he explained how the program would run I just remember all these words: self-directed, authentic learning, growth mindset, passion, blended learning, authentic lessons, significant learning environments, ownership, collaborative, organizational change. I could continue with the words being presented, but now reflecting on those words, they hold value to me. Dr. Bedard also led her course with the same COVA experience when we needed to create an e-Portfolio. I had no clue as to how to start and what it was to look like. These first two classes summed up the program. I truly had a choice. I could create my own space, my own way. I had the autonomy over when I decided to work on it and how much of myself I wanted to reveal. I had to trust the process and learn by trial and error. The steps were small, but I was walking out of my comfort zone. I started sharing ideas with my collaborative group and digging in deep for personal reflection. I also started viewing discussions as another and to learn from others valuable experiece and gain perspective on the working world around me. This helped shape my voice for change within our organization.


The collaboration began quickly with colleagues and others in the cohort. We were forming ownership and not even knowing it. I was reflecting daily on my choices with lessons in my work environment and incorporating the articles and videos within informal conversations. I started to internalize and understand how this learning environment was teaching me how to apply myself and take ownership. I was transferring these ideas by providing students with authentic learning opportunities (COVA). We started asking students what they would change in the classroom or at school. These small steps I was taking out of my comfort zone were small but they were steps towards a change. These changes are now a part of me and how I proceed with life choices.



One of our assignments was to create an innovation plan. This was to create sustaining change within our organization. We were told we needed to understand what we were passionate about and that our minds wouldn't go unless our hearts were emotionally invested, and our innovation plan was created out of this model. We knew our students and their needs. This was my turning point. The moment some puzzle pieces began to fit in place. I learned to take what I am passionate about and turn it into an authentic Call to Action. cohort decided blended learning would be the most effective way to bring change to our organization and chisel away at the traditional school model. Blended learning fit the COVA criteria and we wanted to give our students the opportunity for inclusive education, especially after returning to the classroom after COVID. We wanted them to reignite their passion for learning and grow in self-confidence. to be able to close learning gaps, give them their voice back, and then help teach their peers. We wanted classrooms in our organization to move from lecturing to students and be more engaged and student-centered.


I now value the challenges, reflections, the discussions, choice and ownership of my own learning. My \ professional and personal journey. The Applied Digital Learning program forced me out of my comfort zone. I had to dig deep and reflect on the type of educator and learner I thought I was. It was difficult to realize I was not a truly innovative and student-centered educator. I was in a rebuilding phase. I began applying my learning in class with my students to expose them to equitable learning. My colleague and I began redesigning our classroom to mimic a blended learning rotation model and I can still say, we continue to redesign and reorganize based on the needs of our students.

Eighteen years of teaching had lacked the knowledge of what a true innovative educator does, but this is one of my goals. I am definitely finding my voice and I can say every class presented true authentic opportunities to learn and grow, these challenges shifted me from a fixed mindset to a growth mindset. In the past, I would place up posters, teach students and express the importance in their own lives about the YET, but I was not invested in it until the ADL. The opportunities for constant self-reflection and self-evaluation were sometimes difficult but definitely embraced in my learning process.



Harapnuik (2018) mentions we learn more deeply if feedback is honest and we collaborate with peers This has certainly been a great way to measure my growth


I mentioned before feedback used to feel meaningless because there were never recommendations for how I could grow. Now, I do feel I am given the opportunity to reevaluate my work and words and recreate a stronger lesson or more powerful statements.


Reference

Harapnuik, D. (2018). It’s About Learning | COVA. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991

12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page