top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturevballi

COVA for the change


I believe now I will definitely keep learning to learn. When I began ADL classes in October I felt I needed more guidance and information with assignments and more feedforward to lead me to the right directions. I was wrong, there was genuis to the madness. I was taking ownership and not even knowing. I was reflecting on my choices and allowing my voice to be heard in discussions. I started to internalize and understand how this learning environment was teaching me how to apply my choice ownership and, a voice through authentic learning opportunities (COVA). Is COVA something I have mastered? No, but I am no longer where I started. I have taken steps towards breaking out of my comfort zone where I would observe. I have started taking initiative with my collaborative group to use our voices for change within our organization.


When tasked with creating an innovation plan, our cohort decided blended learning would be the most effective way to bring change to our organization and chisel away at the traditional school model. Blended learning fit the COVA criteria and we wanted to give our students the opportunity at inclusive education, especially after returning to the classroom after COVID.

As we have created a learning community with our classmates in the ADL and we are learning from each other, we want the same for our students. We want them to grow in self-confidence, to be able to close learning gaps, give them their voice back, and then help teach their peers. We wanted classrooms in our organization to move from lecturing to students and more engagement and student-centered.


Harapnuik (2018) mentions we learn more deeply if feedback is honest and we collaborate with peers This has certainly been a great way to measure my growth mindset. I mentioned before feedback used to feel meaningless because there were never recommendations for how I could grow. Now, I do feel I am given the opportunity to reevaluate my work and words and recreate a stronger lesson or more powerful statements.

Reference

Harapnuik, D. (2018). It’s About Learning | COVA. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6991

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page